Want to Study Abroad? Here’s How to Get Started

It has now been over a year since I studied abroad in Ecuador. Ever since coming back, I can’t help but reminisce on my time abroad. It was extremely difficult to adjust to a new culture, make friends, or simply communicate. At the same time, it was the experience I needed to truly learn more about who I am and who I want to become (as cheesy as that sounds). No matter what your major is, what your commitments are like, or how you feel about international travel, I believe that studying abroad is an attainable, beneficial experience for most students. It is a unique opportunity to learn about and live in a completely new environment, and this will allow you to gain new insights about yourself and the world around you. If you are interested in studying abroad, but don’t know where to begin, keep on reading to hear my tips on finding the best experience for you.

Start Looking Early

My first tip is to meet with your school’s study abroad advisors early (There are also many other organizations that help students study abroad, but I will only be focusing on studying abroad through a university here.). By meeting with a study abroad advisor freshman or sophomore year, you will have time to explore different programs. This also allows you to take time to organize your college schedule. For me, this was extremely important because as a biology major, many international biology classes did not transfer. So instead of taking classes for my major while I was in Ecuador, I took Spanish classes for my minor and other classes that helped me fulfill my core curriculum requirements. I truly believe that anyone of any major can study abroad if they take time to plan out how studying abroad will fit with their graduation requirements. Finally, by beginning your search early, you have the ability to talk with other students who recently studied abroad. Once I seriously began thinking about studying in Quito, I met with three different students to hear about their experiences in Ecuador. They were my best resources when it came to learning about the school I was going to attend, day to day life, and the challenges that I may face.

What type of program are you looking for?

My second tip is to think about which type of program will best suit your needs. For instance, do you wish to study abroad for a full semester or more short term? My school provides both options. When I was in Ecuador, I was there for 4 months, but this May, I will go on a 2-week trip to Spain for a class. Depending on your major, availability, or ability to be far from home for long periods of time, choose a program length that is right for you. When studying abroad, it is also important to think about where you will be living. Some programs, especially language programs, provide a homestay. Other programs have you stay in apartments or flats with other study abroad students. I personally had the homestay experience, and it was very positive. I was able to practice the most Spanish with my host family, so I was very grateful for that. Finally, I would consider the size of both the school and the city that you wish to study abroad in. For me, I chose to attend a university that was medium-sized, but Quito itself was a huge city that challenged me to adapt to a new lifestyle.

What do you want to get out of the experience?

My final piece of advice is to consider what you hope to gain from your study abroad experience. Do you wish to learn a language? Do you crave adventure? Are you a foodie? Do you wish to experience a culture different from your own? People choose to study abroad for many different reasons, so it is important that you reflect on your intentions for studying abroad in order to gain the most from your experience. For me, I knew I wanted to go somewhere that spoke Spanish. I also wanted to choose a country that not many people get to travel to. Lastly, I chose Ecuador because I knew that it would challenge me to adapt. Like I have mentioned numerous times, it was hard to adjust to living in a third world country in a densely populated city. The culture is much more relaxed and people-oriented, which is different from the hustle and bustle I was used to in the States. My whole lifestyle changed while I was abroad, and that helped me grow into a more mature and authentic version of myself.

These are the three main tips I have for people who want to study abroad. If you have the means to study abroad, do it! College is the best time to travel because you are young, healthy, open-minded, and free from many adult responsibilities. The bottom line is that anyone who wants to study abroad can make it happen with proper planning, so go on and start exploring all that this world has to offer!

Best,

Hannah

Leave a comment