I’m Leaving the Country in 3 Weeks

Someone please tell me how we are already at the end of July? How? My summer has been a mash-up of work, studying for the MCAT, volunteering as an interpreter for a free medical clinic near my house, along with boring other errands and doctor’s appointments. Luckily, I have been able to spend a little time with both my high school and college friends, so my whole summer has not been work. Some friend highlights include getting “The Beast”—a 10 scoop sundae— at a local custard shop and going the first of my college wedding.

However, with all of this hoopla going on, I have seemed to forget about something… Oh yeah, I’m leaving the country in three weeks to study abroad in Ecuador. The past few days have been a wave of emotions. First, I was straight-up overwhelmed and anxious. I started making an extensive packing list, and I still have not really started tackling this list. For the record, I hate packing. It is so overwhelming that in the past I have usually ended up shoving random clothes into a suitcase just so that I can be done with the packing process. I probably should not take this course of action for this trip, though. The anxiety came from not knowing who my host family was. I was so nervous to know who I am going to live with for the next 4 months. Will they accept me and embrace me as one of their family members? Will they be kind and welcoming? I just kept praying and praying that I could get matched with a loving family.

Now, I am in a more positive emotional state. I am still overwhelmed with packing. I do need to take a bit more care when packing to go to a third world county. I need to think about what medicine to bring, ways to purify water, and other items that might be necessary to have for my overall health and well-being. I am a lot more excited, though, because I now know who my host family is. They are a family of 4, including two children in their 20’s. My host sister and mom have already been in some contact with me, and I am getting the sense that they are very kind, safe, and welcoming people. I still do not really know who they are because the first time I meet them will be at the airport in August, but I have a good feeling about this family.

So in a nutshell, I am excited to meet my host family, packing is overwhelming, and I’m slightly concerned that I will get sick from the food/water at some point. Oddly enough, I haven’t been that concerned with the idea of speaking Spanish the whole time. I guess I will see how that goes once I get there.

¡En tres semanas, estaré en Ecuador!

Hasta pronto,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

