Will You Accept this Rose?

In case you haven’t seen, a new season of the Bachelor is on. Now, I never thought I would be the type of girl who would enjoy the Bachelor/Bachelorette, but I watched the last season with JoJo as the bachelorette and now I’m hooked. On Monday I stayed up late to watch the first episode of this season, and I have to say that I am pleased with both Nick and some of the women. I don’t really know how Nick portrayed himself in previous Bachelor/Bachelorette seasons, but now he seems really mature and grounded by his family. Plus, he is from Wisconsin (so am I)! Also, some of the women are lawyers, nurses, etc—they actually have real careers. Right now, I am rooting for the neonatal nurse who is also from Wisconsin. We will see what happens in the following episodes…

ABC-NICK-VIALL1-ml-161226_1_12x5_1600.jpg

Anyways, all of this talk about the Bachelor has gotten me thinking about my perspective on dating. For the record, I have yet to date anyone. Whenever I come home, family members and friends are constantly asking me if I am interested in someone. It drives me crazy. Yes, I am 20 years old, and yes maybe most girls my age have at least dated someone, but I personally don’t want to date just to date. I’m not interested in hooking up with guys. I want a real relationship, so therefore, I want to wait for a guy who is mature, caring, thoughtful, funny (the list goes on).

At this point, I feel so young. At age 20, I am barely an adult. I am still in college, and I have intentions on going to medical school and starting a career. I don’t envision myself settling down soon, so I wish people wouldn’t pressure me to be in a relationship. Also, as much as I would like to be in a romantic relationship with someone, I feel as though God is giving me a message saying that I still need to work on the relationships I already have in my life. I love my family, but I need to improve my attitude around them. I want to work on letting my guard down around them and showing them how much I love and appreciate them. As far as friends go, I barely have time as it is to see them because I get caught up in school and other activities. I need to make more of an effort to spend quality time with them, so that they can see how much they all mean to me.

At this point in my life, I know that I should not be searching for a boyfriend. I already have amazing relationships in my life that I can to continue to strengthen, and I also really want to focus on attaining a fulfilling career. I trust that when the time is right, God will place an amazing guy into my life. I just want to encourage any of you who also are struggling with being single right now to not settle for any person you stumble upon. Use this time to grow as an individual and to spend time with the important individuals who are already a part of your life. I truly believe that God is the best matchmaker out there, so I’m just going to (try to) patiently wait for the guy he has in store for me.

Lots of love,
Hannah

Leave a Reply

