Home Sweet Home

I’m home! Well, I’m back on campus, so it’s like my second home. Words cannot describe how happy I am to be back. I just love every aspect of college– the independence, the classes, my job, my friends, and so much more. This year, I am living in a suite with seven other girls. There’s a living area, a bathroom, four bedrooms, and get this, there is air conditioning! That truly is a blessing.

My friend Kelly and I arrived on campus early for our job training. We are both coordinators for ALIVE. The goal of ALIVE is to build community and to help students explore more about their passions, callings, and spirituality. Every week, we will work in teams to put on programs in the residence halls. Our programs might be socials, activity-based, or deep discussions, and the topics vary depending on what sparks interest in our participants. I worked with ALIVE last year as an apprentice in the honors dorm, and I am ecstatic to continue ministering in the honors dorm this year.

Training week was long and intensive. Even though we had to sit through many long talks, we still had tons of time for team bonding. We went mini golfing, visited the farmer’s market, had a lip-sync battle (which I rocked by the way), etc. The people that I work with are some of the coolest individuals I know. Not only are they a kind, outgoing, and diverse group of individuals, but they are also incredibly grounded in their faith. They are such a wonderful support group for me, and I can’t wait to spend a whole year working with them.

By friday, all of my friends were moved in! I’ve missed them all immensely. We spent our night playing “Girl Talk,” a board game created probably in the 90’s for preteen girls. It’s basically a lame version of truth or dare. If you complete the tasks, you can earn points that eventually help you gain cards that reveal your future– information about your marriage, children, and career. Failure to complete the truths/dares results in you putting a “zit sticker” on your face. Needless to say, this game is hilarious and will produce much laughter and memories among us.

I start my classes on Monday, and I couldn’t be happier. What can I say, I am a nerd, and I love being one. My schedule is full, but that’s how I like it. I just have a feeling that this year will be great. I’m hoping to grow more as an individual, to deepen the relationships that I have established with my friends, and to more wholeheartedly follow God’s will for me. This year, I really want to give my life to God. I need to hand over any anxieties I have about school and work, and just trust that God is in control.

Heavenly Father, bless this upcoming school year. Give me the tools I need to succeed the best I can. Help me to be brave–to step out in faith and to be more confident in myself and in my abilities. Whenever I am stressed, help me remember to lean on you. You are my strength, Lord. Please continue to reveal your plan for me this year, Lord. My future is still fuzzy, but I trust that you will reveal this plan to me one day at a time. That being said, allow me to listen to what you are calling me to do. It’s your will, Lord, not mine. Each day, transform my heart and mind. Help me to be more compassionate, patient, and selfless. Walk with me, Lord, each day, and help me become the best version of myself. I need you, and I love you. Thank you for this opportunity to attend college for another year. It is such a blessing, and I will take advantage of every opportunity that you present me with.  Amen.

I’m so happy to be back at college. I’m looking forward to all of the memories that will be made 🙂

IMG_2812

This is me and some of my amazing coworkers/friends from ALIVE 🙂

 

Lots of love,
Hannah

Leave a Reply

