Running in a Rainstorm

The past week has felt as though I have been trapped in a thunderstorm– surrounded by booming thunder, striking lightning, and a bombardment of wind and rain. What caused this metaphorical rainstorm? Work. Now for the most part, I enjoy working. I love my coworkers, and I treasure the relationships that I have with my residents. However, it just so happened that I ended up working seven days in a row. Up until day six, I was fine. On day seven, I lost it. I was so overwhelmed by the amount of work that I had to do. It felt as though my best efforts were far from adequate. I hate feeling that I am not performing to the best of my ability. After that seventh day of work, I cried multiple times because I was so physically and emotionally exhausted. It’s so hard to be positive, patient, and loving to my residents when I have no time away to recharge.

The next day, though, I received my reward– one full day off where I could do whatever I wanted. The day began with a trail run in a local park with my friend. As we were driving over, we noticed dark clouds looming in the distance. We kept driving, though, because our weather app said that I wasn’t supposed to rain. As soon as our feet hit the trail, though, it started down-pouring. This was no little trickle of rain; this was a head-to-toe soaking experience. God had enveloped us in a literal rainstorm. My friend and I couldn’t help but start laughing.I laughed so hard that I could barely stand, let alone run. I don’t think I’ve laughed that hard in a long time. For me, this was a sign that this day was going to be exactly what I needed to boost my morale. The rain died down, and my friend and I we able to finish our run, although we were a little muddier than we had originally anticipated.

After my run, I met the same friend plus two other friends so that we could spend the first day of summer downtown. The first stop? Purple Door ice cream, my favorite local ice cream shop. There I got an ice cream sandwich, composed of 2 chocolate chip cookies and salted caramel ice cream. Translation: I was in complete heaven. Later we hit the beach for an afternoon of relaxation. The water was freezing cold, so we only took a quick dip in it, but the rest of the time we just talked while basking in the warm sun. Since I have worked pretty much every day since getting home from school, it felt wonderful to just sit outside and relax.

IMG_2303

My ice cream sandwich creation: 2 chocolate chip cookies with salted caramel ice cream!

IMG_2306

Us eating the best ice cream ever from Purple Door Ice Cream. I wish I could come here every day 🙂

IMG_2304

Us enjoying the sun and warm weather for once. I love my hat that I got while in San Juan, Puerto Rico (I’m in the back.).

This day was one of the best days that I have had in a long time. After so much work, it’s amazing to see how much I value just one day off. I’m so thankful that God gave me exactly what I needed to recover from a hard week of work– a great workout; my favorite ice cream; and time with my best friends who love me, support me, and lead me closer to Christ. Escaping the rainstorm and stepping into summer’s sunny rays surrounded by my friends has never felt so good, and I will treasure this day forever.

 

Lots of love,

Hannah

Leave a Reply

